FS9 Starting up Problem

Members helping members with Flight Sim issues

Moderator: VATNZ Board Member

Post Reply
Message
Author
Nick Botica
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 5:09 pm
VATSIM ID: 999991
Location: NZWN

FS9 Starting up Problem

#1 Post by Nick Botica » Sun Aug 10, 2008 6:20 pm

'Your computer has run out of available memory. Flight simulator will now exit. You may not have enough free space on your hard disk drive. Run disk cleanup to free up space, and then try running Flight Simulator again."

This is driving me crazy!

First happened yesterday, I have LOTS of room on my HDD's and I Googled the message, and then tried to refresh the paging file but still no go.

Anybody know anything about this?

Might have to copy my FS folder to somewhere else, reinstall FS then paste it back over. Will this work?

Thanks, Nick
Image

Matthew McTague
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:58 am
VATSIM ID: 898886
Location: Timaru, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: FS9 Starting up Problem

#2 Post by Matthew McTague » Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:44 pm

How much RAM do you have?

How big is your paging file allowed to be? (In system properties -> advanced -> performance -> advanced -> virtual memory)
Try increasing it
Matthew McTague
VATNZ TMA Controller

John Leat
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:12 pm

Re: FS9 Starting up Problem

#3 Post by John Leat » Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:50 pm

I had the same problem too Nick, it normally means you have a memory leak.
Sometimes some addons cause it, if there is a clash between certain sceneries.
Pain in the @$$ I know.
John Leat
VATNZ - Senior Controller/O
VOZ Virtual B737 Captain
Image

Glen Anderson
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:25 pm

Re: FS9 Starting up Problem

#4 Post by Glen Anderson » Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:06 pm

I had the same sort of problem but did system restore back to when FS was working and wolla its going . Mind you it was only two days back not that far back for system restore.

Glen
Glen Anderson
VATNZ ATC Control
Enroute Controller (C1)
Image

Glen Anderson
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:25 pm

Re: FS9 Starting up Problem

#5 Post by Glen Anderson » Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:12 pm

Also just thought

why dont you try going to were your saved flights are in flight sim were the .FLT are and double click on that and it opens up flight sim as well .

Eg "E:\Documents and Settings\Glen Anderson\My Documents\Flight Simulator Files\Previous flight" ect ect
Glen Anderson
VATNZ ATC Control
Enroute Controller (C1)
Image

Nick Botica
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 5:09 pm
VATSIM ID: 999991
Location: NZWN

Re: FS9 Starting up Problem

#6 Post by Nick Botica » Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:12 pm

I had the same sort of problem but did system restore back to when FS was working and wolla its going . Mind you it was only two days back not that far back for system restore.

Glen
Tried that, no go :(
Glen Anderson wrote:Also just thought

why dont you try going to were your saved flights are in flight sim were the .FLT are and double click on that and it opens up flight sim as well .

Eg "E:\Documents and Settings\Glen Anderson\My Documents\Flight Simulator Files\Previous flight" ect ect
No :(

Nick
Image

Mark Helyar
Posts: 291
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:50 am
VATSIM ID: 0
Contact:

Re: FS9 Starting up Problem

#7 Post by Mark Helyar » Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:44 pm

Nick, do you have a Autosave.dll in your modules folder, if so remove all flights it has saved and remove the Autosave.dll and try that. It has been known to cause memory issues within FS

Edit - Sounds like a quad core memory cache problem to me, can you run other memory sucking programs other than FS?
Mark Helyar CEO
HR Manager / Events Director
Virtual Air New Zealand
http://www.virtualairnz.com
FE-Instructor / NZ PPL
Founder - vANZ

Image

Nick Botica
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 5:09 pm
VATSIM ID: 999991
Location: NZWN

Re: FS9 Starting up Problem

#8 Post by Nick Botica » Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:05 am

Mark Helyar wrote:Nick, do you have a Autosave.dll in your modules folder, if so remove all flights it has saved and remove the Autosave.dll and try that. It has been known to cause memory issues within FS
No, good thought though, I thought the 450 autosave files would have had an effect on it.
Edit - Sounds like a quad core memory cache problem to me, can you run other memory sucking programs other than FS?
How would I tell, it's not doing this for any other program.
Image

Glen Anderson
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:25 pm

Re: FS9 Starting up Problem

#9 Post by Glen Anderson » Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:08 pm

Glen Anderson
VATNZ ATC Control
Enroute Controller (C1)
Image

Nick Botica
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 5:09 pm
VATSIM ID: 999991
Location: NZWN

Re: FS9 Starting up Problem

#10 Post by Nick Botica » Sun Aug 17, 2008 12:31 am

Yeah, tried that, :cry: thanks for your help though
Image

Ray Lang
VATNZ Training Staff Member
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 1:39 pm

FS9 Starting up Problem

#11 Post by Ray Lang » Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:33 am

Nick look for the program on the net MemStats. This will show you your specs, Ram Usage
and Page file Usage.

This will see if you have a problem with your computer or a problem with FS9 this could be
a memory leak like scenery files etc.
Vatsim Senior Supervisor
Pacific Oceanic Partnership Admin
Have a question? Email supervisors@vatsim.net
Image

Post Reply